View Full Version : WARNING - Please Ignore This PM ! - READ THIS
herotamil
11-22-2007, 08:23 AM
Dear members,
If you received any PM from username Erin Pavlina, entitled "Hey there"; please do not click any link from the PM!
The link maybe contained phishing or virus website AND will harm your PC. Hope this help.
I just want to help. If you have accidentally click the link, please scan your PC immediately.
Admin please do something. Maybe next time, new user registered need admin approval.
Thanks.
andretong
11-22-2007, 09:22 AM
I too received that PM. was about to post it here, then saw your thread.
Lucky i didn't click on the link to check it out.
funkiller
11-22-2007, 09:23 AM
Yup, I received this massage too. The massage sounds like this :
"Sorry for PMing out of the blue. Here's the thing.
I wrote a book with a friend of mine. My husband keeps saying it sucks. I think he's just jealous tho.
He spends a lot of time on these boards, so I told him I'm going to pick a random person here, and ask them, and we ended up betting on it.
So go to <delete the link> and make the call. Does it suck?
Thanks."
The sender is Erin Pavlina.
jmaguireokm
11-22-2007, 09:25 AM
what happen if the link been accidentally click ??? :?
csjian
11-22-2007, 09:32 AM
then have to scan ur PC for viruses loh.. &...spyware
zique
11-22-2007, 09:33 AM
Jmag: If you accidentally click the link, then go scan your computer to ensure nothing sneaked in and plant itself.
noruazumi
11-22-2007, 09:35 AM
the page was marked under pornography category.
jmaguireokm
11-22-2007, 09:49 AM
Jmag: If you accidentally click the link, then go scan your computer to ensure nothing sneaked in and plant itself.
thanks mickie :D anyway, that 1 is company notebook, i dun care lo hahahahahaahahha
twsttl
11-22-2007, 09:54 AM
Wahhh..............luckily I didn't clicked the link before I saw this thread.
Thanks for the info, guys and gals.:cool::D:D:D:D
Crazymalaysian
11-22-2007, 10:09 AM
I clicked and nothing happended. Perhaps that's because I'm using firefox, but I checked the page source of the webpage that you're taken to and it seems clean. All that's on that website is some boring story. :D
StPatrick
11-22-2007, 10:17 AM
what happen if the link been accidentally click ??? :?
This morning, that "hey there" looks suspicious already.
Lucky did not click, better delete it
zuhrie
11-22-2007, 10:20 AM
dang...i clicked and it was a blank page
orionmystery
11-22-2007, 10:20 AM
I clicked already woh...LOL..my avast didn't warn me anything...but better scan now..
sampoerna
11-22-2007, 10:30 AM
I clicked and nothing happended. Perhaps that's because I'm using firefox, but I checked the page source of the webpage that you're taken to and it seems clean. All that's on that website is some boring story. :D
I am using Firefox too. Nothing happended except for lots of long boring stories
Vodka
11-22-2007, 10:33 AM
anyone received this msg?
Sorry for PMing out of the blue. Here's the thing.
I wrote a book with a friend of mine. My husband keeps saying it sucks. I think he's just jealous tho.
He spends a lot of time on these boards, so I told him I'm going to pick a random person here, and ask them, and we ended up betting on it.
So go to xxx and make the call. Does it suck?
Thanks.
* i didn't go into the site... scare is virus... :)
karheng
11-22-2007, 10:35 AM
I also din go in......could it be a spammer ST? I saw it was forwarded to you as well...
orionmystery
11-22-2007, 10:44 AM
There's a similar one before this, here (http://www.shutterasia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6149).
kuih_tiow
11-22-2007, 10:46 AM
scanning my pc rite now...
noruazumi
11-22-2007, 10:52 AM
when i clicked, this page came out.....
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2208/2053399167_0cd00c13c5.jpg
i opened the page at my office. :D
orionmystery
11-22-2007, 10:54 AM
I am using Firefox too. Nothing happended except for lots of long boring stories
Me either....clicked and a page with white font/dark background appeared..some boring story...read a couple of lines then closed the page LOL.
Using Opera.
noruazumi
11-22-2007, 10:54 AM
Nothing happended except for lots of long boring stories
so the husband was right, her book really suck! hahahahahahahaha...
Chinks
11-22-2007, 10:56 AM
I clicked and nothing happended. Perhaps that's because I'm using firefox, but I checked the page source of the webpage that you're taken to and it seems clean. All that's on that website is some boring story. :DSame for me.
But I'm scanning my PC now anyway. :cool:
simonliu
11-22-2007, 11:00 AM
hey just a suggestion, maybe a new member needs to hv certain number of posts before they're allowed to PM. At least this would give some sort of indication that they're genuine forumers.
tedearl
11-22-2007, 11:09 AM
hey just a suggestion, maybe a new member needs to hv certain number of posts before they're allowed to PM. At least this would give some sort of indication that they're genuine forumers.
Good suggestion...hmm. But what if a new member came in and wanted to PM a fella who is selling some gears at a good price?
ckchowov
11-22-2007, 11:10 AM
Normally ppl pm me asking for my handphone numbers:D So i 100% ignore this suspicious message from Pavlina.:P
Crazymalaysian
11-22-2007, 11:16 AM
Both threads merged.
tedearl
11-22-2007, 11:32 AM
Btw..how did she manage to PM to so many ppl? :? I thought limit was 5 at a time...
sE_vIxEn
11-22-2007, 11:51 AM
getting a virus just by entering a website... whoa, scary. hand itchy go click, but nothing happened. or maybe something did but i'm not aware?!
leslie
11-22-2007, 11:57 AM
dudes just avoid the messages and dont open it. :)
sampoerna
11-22-2007, 11:58 AM
* i didn't go into the site... scare is virus... :)
Virus scare of you more than you scare of them :run_away:
Bigcrapshooter
11-22-2007, 12:19 PM
first thing comes to my mind reading the pm, ah good try, what a new tactic..didnt click it and immediately saw this thread right after :redface:
chuah406
11-22-2007, 12:28 PM
read the pm.....clicked the link....read a bit....saw this warning post....scanned pc....no virus la....
mki88
11-22-2007, 12:34 PM
Aiyah I ter-press the link before seeing this thread. :0
Scanning for virus now.. :(
xilepeco
11-22-2007, 01:03 PM
Actually opened the link, some long story there. AVG didn't pick anything up. Well I'll probably scan through anyway.
If it's anything, it's more likely to be a malware rather then phishing. Didn't see questions about my details.
Well thanks anyway. Very considerate of you :D
ShaolinTiger
11-22-2007, 03:51 PM
This person is a known spammers, spamming an e-book.
It's not malware infection.
You can read more here:
zenofeller spam (http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=vFR&q=zenofeller+spam&btnG=Search&meta=)
He signs up using other people's e-mail addresses and names and then spams people via PM (Because you can use PM before your account is activated).
The original owner of the e-mail address he used to sign up e-mailed me.
The user has been deleted and all the PM's they sent have also been removed.
Thanks to all of you who reported this, and thanks to hero for starting this thread to warn other users.
edward chan
11-22-2007, 05:05 PM
on firefox and nav 2007(did not pick up anything) , went in there momentarily then quickly :run_away:
pixelight
11-22-2007, 07:55 PM
shyte, i clicked on it! then i started to google Erin Pavlina, turns out she's a mat salleh psychic. she fell and cracked her forehead when she was a child and started to see ghosts :0
pffft...
http://www.honestforum.com/hf-chat/141670-erin-pavlina-spam.html
some folks here got spammed too, so we're not alone :(
takader_lagi
11-23-2007, 02:20 AM
hahaha...i also clicked to that link but nothing happened..already scan my pc but not infected..
sampoerna
11-23-2007, 06:16 PM
I picked up Erin and she is super hot :tongue_roll:
zenofeller
11-25-2007, 09:14 PM
Hello. I am the webmaster running zenofeller.com. First off, let me say I'm sorry that you have received all of those pm's. I've recently returned from a trip abroad and have written an article detailing what happened with the pm's now that I have it figured out. If you'd like to read, it's here: http://www.zenofeller.com/steve_pavlina_going_to_jail.php
Again, my apologies for any inconvenience.
Freaky
11-25-2007, 09:24 PM
I'm still blur like sotong???
Hello. I am the webmaster running zenofeller.com. First off, let me say I'm sorry that you have received all of those pm's. I've recently returned from a trip abroad and have written an article detailing what happened with the pm's now that I have it figured out. If you'd like to read, it's here: http://www.zenofeller.com/steve_pavlina_going_to_jail.php
Again, my apologies for any inconvenience.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.