Shutter Asia Forum  

Home Forum Shoutbox Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Shutter Asia Forum > Gear & Technique > Digital Imaging & Photo Art
Register Facebook Flickr Rules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2009, 05:10 PM
erictham's Avatar
erictham erictham is offline
Serious Shutter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cheras
Posts: 440
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Country:
Hiding / Deleting EXIF information??

Hey guys,

I am using the 'Exif Viewer' application (on the Mac) to check exif information of various photographs over the net... But why some photos (on certain sites) carry zero exif information? (i.e. nothing at all...) How do they do that?
Thanks!
__________________
Eat healthy, stay fit, die anyway!
Canon 40D, BG-E2N, EF 28-70 f/2.8L USM, EF 70-200 f4L USM, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, 580ex II, CP-E4.
www.fourtwography.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2009, 05:20 PM
orionmystery's Avatar
orionmystery orionmystery is offline
Shutter Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 39'26"N 10142'43"E
Posts: 9,209
Thanks: 16
Thanked 117 Times in 110 Posts
Country:
One way to lose the exif is to Save As Web in photoshop....and i think it's the same in Lightroom.

For images hotlinked from say Flickr or imageshack etc, if the posted image is not of the original size, then the exif won't show either...even though the original image on flickr has exif.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:10 PM
bayie bayie is offline
Shutter Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kota Kemuning but Shah Alam
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by orionmystery View Post
One way to lose the exif is to Save As Web in photoshop....and i think it's the same in Lightroom.

For images hotlinked from say Flickr or imageshack etc, if the posted image is not of the original size, then the exif won't show either...even though the original image on flickr has exif.
yes
this is the best way to hide exif
but maybe the a image resolution bit low
__________________
i'm a fotografikr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2010, 09:14 PM
ArtphotoasiA's Avatar
ArtphotoasiA ArtphotoasiA is offline
Shutter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Country:
Ok guys

This is the secret...

1) make the shot
2) make a jpg image from lightroom
3) make a new empty file of the same size in photoshop
4) copy and paste your image in the new file and save.... ALL THE EXIF INFO WILL BE GONE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2010, 01:46 AM
ShaolinTiger's Avatar
ShaolinTiger ShaolinTiger is offline
Shutter God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Petaling Jaya
Posts: 6,402
Thanks: 56
Thanked 148 Times in 80 Posts
Country:
No need to complicated haha, just use "Save for web" option in Photoshop.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2010, 04:54 PM
jackyyong's Avatar
jackyyong jackyyong is offline
Shutter Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seri Kembangan
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country:
Use EXIFER. Select the pictures that you want from the viewer. Go to Exif menu, select "Delete". It will prompt you whether or not to backup the EXIF. The main picture remains intact, no resaving of the main picture compared to the method using PS / Lightroom.

However I always believe that it is better to share your information as much as possible, therefore I never delete off the EXIF when I share them online.
__________________
JackyYong.com

Last edited by jackyyong; 01-25-2010 at 04:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:39 AM
hann hann is offline
New Shutter User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Penang
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinTiger View Post
No need to complicated haha, just use "Save for web" option in Photoshop.
Anyway to do it in batch thanks for sharing ..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:50 AM
ShaolinTiger's Avatar
ShaolinTiger ShaolinTiger is offline
Shutter God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Petaling Jaya
Posts: 6,402
Thanks: 56
Thanked 148 Times in 80 Posts
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by hann View Post
Anyway to do it in batch thanks for sharing ..
Yah, Photoshop has all kinds of automated batch actions. You need to read up on it though it's not so simple.

To find out more in Photoshop go to File - Automate - Batch.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2010, 06:09 PM
ArtphotoasiA's Avatar
ArtphotoasiA ArtphotoasiA is offline
Shutter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Country:
Hi there

with photoshop you can make nearly everything automatic... you need to set 'actions' in the bar menu on the right side.

click 'create action' and give it a name

click the 'reg. button' then do what you need to batch in photoshop ALSO SAVE FOR WEB then click 'close button' .

next time you open 10 files (example) with PS then just click 'play action' in the menu.


hope it helps
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems Viewing EXIF Information for Attachments with Opanda for vBulletin ShaolinTiger News & Announcements 24 04-20-2009 04:31 PM
Hiding scared.... shakyhand Black and White Images 5 04-05-2009 03:30 PM
This model hiding in my hard disk... astroboy Portraits, People & Studio 5 09-07-2007 02:25 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Site Content and Design Copyright 2007-2013 Shutter Asia - All Rights Reserved
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design