Shutter Asia Forum  

Home Forum Shoutbox Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Shutter Asia Forum > Gear & Technique > Philosophy & Technique of Photography
Register Facebook Flickr Rules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2008, 12:56 PM
tinydino tinydino is offline
Shutter Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country:
HDR Photograhpy/Technique

Hi guys,

i wish to find out from those who's shot HDR before..do you take multiple shots of the same frame by adjusting the shutter speed or the exposure compensation (EV)?

when use auto-bracketing, camera takes 3 shots with +1, 0 & -1 stops of shutter speed. does it adjust the EV automatically too?

or do we need to adjust both the shutter speed & EV too?

another is number of shots, how do we determine the number of shots/exp to take?i read its anywhere between 3 to 8 or even 9 shots...

i'm asking cos planning to start my 1st HDR shots this friday...hopefully can get myself better equipped before starting..

thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:29 PM
EdwinTan EdwinTan is offline
Shutterfreak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Pole
Posts: 1,561
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Country:
if u use auto bracket, u dun have to adjust anything
just snap away..make sure u stay in same position and same angle..

would recommend u to use tripod..
u can even use timer..which will take 3 pic..continue..
__________________
I dare not to post sub-standard photo, people will say I'm trying to increase post count &
i'm very un pro cause I photo edit my pictures
My Flickr + My new Gallery
The Pixel Pimps Blog
Quote:
Chi sua pi chi sua kuan..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:40 PM
capix's Avatar
capix capix is offline
Shutter Council
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 33
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Country:
I normally used AEB...
__________________
~...me & D300s...~
capixAdnan | Collections & FlickR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:43 PM
ShaolinTiger's Avatar
ShaolinTiger ShaolinTiger is offline
Shutter God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Petaling Jaya
Posts: 6,402
Thanks: 56
Thanked 148 Times in 80 Posts
Country:
Just use bracketing it will adjust the exposure automatically.

On my D200 I take -2,-1,0,+1,+2

You should aim for about 5 stops of dynamic range, on my D70s I just took -2,0,+2 because it could bracket by 2 stops.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:30 PM
tinydino tinydino is offline
Shutter Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinTiger View Post
Just use bracketing it will adjust the exposure automatically.

On my D200 I take -2,-1,0,+1,+2

You should aim for about 5 stops of dynamic range, on my D70s I just took -2,0,+2 because it could bracket by 2 stops.
am using D70s, and i notice can't take more than 3 exp...if need more exp, means i'll have to adjust the shutter speed manually right? one stop at a time...

hopefully it'll work...

thanks for all the advise...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:33 PM
EdwinTan EdwinTan is offline
Shutterfreak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Pole
Posts: 1,561
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinydino View Post
am using D70s, and i notice can't take more than 3 exp...if need more exp, means i'll have to adjust the shutter speed manually right? one stop at a time...

hopefully it'll work...

thanks for all the advise...
yes. adjust the shutter manually..make sure the apeture is the same thou.
btw, u don't really have to go 1 stop at a time.
u can go whichever ..exposure u like.
__________________
I dare not to post sub-standard photo, people will say I'm trying to increase post count &
i'm very un pro cause I photo edit my pictures
My Flickr + My new Gallery
The Pixel Pimps Blog
Quote:
Chi sua pi chi sua kuan..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:17 AM
ShaolinTiger's Avatar
ShaolinTiger ShaolinTiger is offline
Shutter God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Petaling Jaya
Posts: 6,402
Thanks: 56
Thanked 148 Times in 80 Posts
Country:
If you using D70s just use -2,0,+2 I got fine HDR pictures using 3 bracket 2 eV apart.











These are all D70s 3 exposure with kit lens.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2008, 08:13 AM
capix's Avatar
capix capix is offline
Shutter Council
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 33
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Country:
wow..beautiful ST, love it all...
__________________
~...me & D300s...~
capixAdnan | Collections & FlickR
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2008, 03:59 PM
bimmer bimmer is offline
Shutter Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Country:
ST:
What HDR software do you use for this?
__________________
- bimmer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2008, 04:15 PM
ShaolinTiger's Avatar
ShaolinTiger ShaolinTiger is offline
Shutter God
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Petaling Jaya
Posts: 6,402
Thanks: 56
Thanked 148 Times in 80 Posts
Country:
Photomatix of course!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hdr

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying out new technique during dinner shoot.. karheng Wedding Photography 16 01-08-2008 01:04 PM
Pro Photographer Technique Swift3230 Philosophy & Technique of Photography 11 11-26-2007 03:25 PM
Useful Resources Regarding Photography Philosophy & Technique ShaolinTiger Philosophy & Technique of Photography 0 10-02-2007 05:25 PM
Technique to improve these shots ... alancheong7 Philosophy & Technique of Photography 22 08-02-2007 10:03 AM
My technique...check it out calvin Hollywood Digital Imaging & Photo Art 19 07-02-2007 05:31 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Site Content and Design Copyright 2007-2013 Shutter Asia - All Rights Reserved
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design